Jump to content

RQA Awards Presentation 2023

The RQA Board recognises the importance of all volunteers, especially those who render special or extended service to the Association or profession. Tim Stiles, RQA Chair, announced the Award winners at the recent RQA International QA Conference 2023 in Belfast.

Hear Tim's Closing Address here

Honorary Life Fellows

From time to time, the RQA Board grants Honorary Life Fellow status to “any Fellow or Member who has rendered special service to the Company and the profession”.

At the RQA International Conference 2023, the RQA Board awarded Honorary Life Fellowship of the Research Quality Association to:

  • Andrew King for his significant contribution to the Association over many years. Andrew has overseen RQA activity in Australia for many years, helping RQA build a membership community in the region. In response to the news of the Award, Andrew reported that it was wholly unexpected and delightful,
  • Anders Wichman for his significant contribution to the European Quality Assurance Confederation,
  • Rebecca Stanbrook has been a staunch supporter of the Association, spanning many years.

Honorary Life Members

The RQA Board also grants Honorary Life Member status to “any person who has rendered special service to the profession”. The RQA Board awarded Honorary Life Membership to:

  • Professor Sir Jonathan Van Tam for his services during the COVID-19 pandemic. Jonathan expressed his sincere gratitude at being given the Award
  • Hannah Chen for her role in promoting QA in China through the China QA Forum. Hannah said that she looked forward to future collaborations between CQAF and RQA
  • Cheryl McCarthy, President of SQA – for her enthusiastic role in promoting QA
  • Lars-Eric Ellow for his work promoting QA, especially during his time as the Chairman of SARQA, the Swedish QA Association. Lars-Eric reported that he was incredibly flattered
  • Tony Ward has been with the RQA for almost 17 years, driving our efforts to provide news, knowledge, and learning to a growing community of QA professionals.

RQA Award 2023

The RQA Award is made annually to an RQA member to recognise their ‘extended service to the Association’.

The Board had lengthy deliberations before deciding on this year’s RQA Award recipient…

The RQA Award 2023 goes to…three very worthy recipients:

  • Cathy Dove for her unwavering support to the GCP Committee,
  • Likewise, Monjit Summy for her significant support to the GCP Committee,
  • Vic Stace for her boundless support to the Publications Committee and QUASAR over many years.

Conference Programme Committee

Finally, to the Conference Programme Committee for planning a great event – thank you, Yasser Farooq, for Chairing the Conference Programme Committee.


Virtual Event Platform